Who pays for the postage, and what comes off the payment
Every quotation below is taken verbatim from the named company’s own published pages, read on 10 September 2026, and each row names the page it came from. Terms change without notice, so read the current version on the company’s own site before you post anything to anyone, us included.
| Buyer | What posting costs the seller | Deducted from the payment | Read, and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| GoldPaid | Nothing. Free prepaid Royal Mail Special Delivery label out, and free tracked return if you decline. | Nothing. No pack, payment or handling fee is taken from the payment. | 10 September 2026, how we value gold |
| Cash For Your Gold | Seller sends the parcel. Their how-it-works page says “Post your items securely at your local post office or Arrange Home Collection by Royal Mail”, and their FAQ asks “Why don’t you send out gold packs?” | Clause 10 charges £5 for a Faster Payments transfer and £10 for a cheque, each “deducted from the valuation figure”. | 10 September 2026, how it works, terms |
| Gold Traders | No pack or prepaid label published. The seller posts and pays, and their clause 3 says the seller is “responsible for ensuring your items are packaged securely and appropriately insured”. | Their 9ct page states “There are no fees to come off this”. | 10 September 2026, 9ct page, terms |
| Hatton Garden Metals | Their prepaid pack, or package the items yourself and post at your own cost. | Pack fee deducted from the payment, by cover level: £8.95 up to £750, £9.95 up to £1,000, £10.95 up to £2,500. The pack is described as free. | 10 September 2026, homepage, pack request page |
| GoldSell | Free Gold Selling Pack with a pre-paid label. Their terms set standard cover at £750 and say that above it the seller “must purchase additional insurance at the Post Office” (clause 3.2). | Nothing where the parcel meets their minimum; below it a £15 admin fee plus return postage applies (clauses 9.1 and 9.2). | 10 September 2026, homepage, terms |
What comes off the payment. A headline is not always the last word on the money. Cash For Your Gold’s clause 10 sets out two payment charges: “FPS direct bank transfer. This service is charged at £5 per transfer to clients holding compatible bank accounts and is our preferred payment method, the fee being deducted from the valuation figure.” and “CHEQUE PAYMENTS will be charged at £10 per transaction to offset our bank charges and admin/postal costs when using this method of payment, the fee being deducted from the valuation figure.” On their own wording both come off the valuation. Read 10 September 2026 on their terms and conditions; terms change, so check the current version.
What a free prepaid label is worth
A free prepaid label is worth a fixed sum whoever’s headline is higher: it is the postage you do not have to buy, plus the return postage you do not have to buy if you decline. Several buyers on this page leave the outbound postage, the extra cover, or the return to the seller. When you compare buyers, price the postage in, because it is money out of the same pocket.
For scale, Royal Mail’s published price for Special Delivery Guaranteed by 1pm, up to 100g, on its tariff effective 7 April 2026 (read 31 August 2026), was £9.95 at a Post Office counter or £9.45 online at the £750 compensation level, £12.95 at £1,000 and £19.95 at £2,500. Jewellery is only compensatable on that service, which is why every GoldPaid label uses it. A buyer that leaves you to buy that label has handed you a real cost that no headline shows.
How the size of the parcel changes the answer
A free label and no deductions are worth a fixed sum, so they matter most on a small parcel. A higher headline is worth a share of the metal, so it matters most on a large one. There is no single buyer who is ahead on every parcel on every day. Weigh the fixed costs, the postage, any pack fee, any payment charge and any paid return, against the terms that are not about money at all: what happens to a stone, when the metal is melted, and who carries the parcel in the post.
GoldSell’s terms also set a minimum: “we require a minimum of 5g of gold content within a Gold Selling Pack in order to provide a valuation and complete a purchase” (clause 5.6), so ask them how they measure gold content before posting a small parcel. Nothing on this page is a claim about what any buyer offers after inspection: every one of these companies, GoldPaid included, sets the real figure after testing. Final offers depend on inspection, item weight, purity, hallmarks, stones, non-gold components, condition and the live precious-metal market.
What happens to the stones in your jewellery
This term is easy to miss, and it can cost the most. Cash For Your Gold’s published terms on 10 September 2026 state:
Cash For Your Gold terms, clause 8a, read 10 September 2026. Terms change; check the current version on their own site.
That is a clearly written term and the company is entitled to trade on it. It is stated openly, with its reasoning. What matters is that a seller reads it before posting a stone-set ring, because it applies to the diamond in an engagement ring as much as to a chip of glass in a dress ring. Other buyers’ terms deal with testing damage instead. Gold Traders’ clause 2 says that to assess value “we may need to: Remove stones from jewellery settings (which can occasionally result in breakage)”, and adds: “Please be aware that we are unable to reverse any modifications made during the valuation process should you later decide not to proceed with the sale.” GoldSell’s clause 5.1 asks the seller to consent to “Removal and potential damage to stones”, clause 5.2 says “Gemstones generally valued at £0 unless exceptional”, and clause 6.2 says that “whilst our team will always make every reasonable effort to return stones that have not been included in your valuation, this cannot be guaranteed in every situation”. All read 10 September 2026.
GoldPaid’s position is written into how offers are produced: nothing is removed from a piece of jewellery without your written instruction, and your written offer shows the metal figure and the stone figure on separate lines. Stones are never disposed of. Decline the offer and a stone-set ring comes back as it arrived, stones in place, by tracked post at our cost. The full policy is on what happens to diamonds and gemstones.
When the sale is made, and when the metal is melted
Melting cannot be undone, so the point at which a buyer treats the sale as made decides how long a decision stays reversible. Cash For Your Gold’s published terms on 10 September 2026 state:
Cash For Your Gold terms, read 10 September 2026. Terms change; check the current version on their own site.
Read carefully, that clause describes what happens after a sale is made, not before one, and every outright buyer including GoldPaid is in the same position once metal reaches a refiner. The practical point is to know when each buyer treats the sale as made. Gold Traders’ clause 6: “If your stated valuation (based on your estimate of weight and purity) differs from our confirmed valuation by less than 10%, we will proceed with payment without further contact.” Their clause 1 says that if you ask for a formal quotation when you submit the claim form, they will not process payment until you confirm. GoldSell’s clause 4.1 says that choosing to be paid without being contacted first means “Irrevocable acceptance of our valuation” and “Items are immediately sent for melting/refining”; if you choose to be contacted instead, clause 5.4 says “Acceptance is binding and items immediately processed”. All read 10 September 2026.
At GoldPaid nothing is melted before you accept. Your items are weighed and XRF-tested, a written itemised offer is sent, and the parcel sits intact until you answer it. The written offer is dated and holds for a limited time, because metal prices move; if it lapses before you decide, it is re-run at the day’s rate rather than pressed on you. You may also accept part of a parcel and decline the rest, with no minimum and no penalty. Once you accept, it is an outright sale like anyone else’s, and that is the point at which it stops being reversible.
What it costs to say no
A return policy is only worth what it costs to use. What each buyer attaches to it is set out in their own published terms, read on 10 September 2026.
Gold Traders terms, clauses 4 and 7, read 10 September 2026. Terms change; check the current version on their own site.
- Cash For Your Gold. Their terms state: “In such circumstances CashForYourGold.co.uk reserves the right, at its absolute discretion, to charge the user £10 per package for postage, packing and insurance of the returned consignment. Post Office terms and conditions may require us to divide a high value consignment (over £2,500) or a heavy consignment (over 500gms) between multiple packages and in such a case we will charge £10 per package required.” It is a right they reserve rather than a fee they say they always apply. On a consignment over £2,500 or over 500g the charge is £10 for each package, not £10 in total.
- Gold Traders. Declining an offer gets a free return with no deadline for UK customers, per their clause 4 above. Two limits sit in the same clause: a £3.00 handling charge on non-precious items you ask to have returned, such as removed stones or base metal components, sent by standard post; and international customers paying for their own returns.
- Vintage Cash Cow. Their terms state that offers are “valid for a period of twenty one (21) days” (clause 5.9), that appraisal happens “within 14 days” with “time shall not be of the essence” (clause 5.4), and that a box which does not identify its sender is “treated as abandoned” after 30 days (clause 5.22). A second 30-day route covers items whose redelivery fails (clause 5.21). Those are ordinary commercial timings, clearly written, but they are clocks and a seller should know they are running.
- Hatton Garden Metals. Their pack request page states that if you decline their offer they send your items back free of charge.
- GoldSell. Where a parcel meets their minimum, clause 9.1 says “you may decline our valuation for any reason and we will return your items to you free of charge”, “fully insured, by Royal Mail Special Delivery. No testing, handling or return fee applies.” Below the minimum, clause 9.2 applies a “£15 admin fee”, “Actual Royal Mail Special Delivery return postage”, and “Any additional insurance costs you paid are not refunded”. Separately, clause 3.2 says that if you bought extra cover for a parcel worth more than £750, “If you reject our offer, you must pay this additional insurance cost yourself”. Their homepage says a declined parcel comes back “with no hidden fees, no admin charges, and no awkwardness”. Both are their own published words on 10 September 2026.
- GoldPaid. Decline and everything comes back free of charge by tracked, signed-for post. There is no fee, no condition and no follow-up. That is the term we would ask you to hold us to; it is set out on what happens if I decline the offer. The written offer is dated and holds for a limited time, because metal prices move; if it lapses before you decide, it is re-run at the day’s rate.
Who carries the parcel while it is in the post
This is where the published terms differ most, and where one competitor is plainly ahead of us.
Cash For Your Gold’s terms on 10 September 2026 state: “CashForYourGold.co.uk accepts no responsibility for the loss or damage of goods whilst in transit to us.” Gold Traders’ clause 3 makes no postal cover claim of its own, leaves the seller to arrange cover, and states that “Gold-Traders (UK) Ltd cannot be held liable for any loss or damage during transit to or from our premises”. GoldSell’s clause 3.1 says “Items remain at your risk until signed for by us” and sets “Standard insurance coverage is £750”, and clause 3.4 says “We accept no liability for transit losses”, while their homepage says “Your gold is insured up to £2,500.” Both GoldSell statements are that company’s own published words on 10 September 2026, reported as written. Terms change, so read the current version on each company’s own site.
Read the scheme as well as the homepage. The scheme itself says what it is not: “This is a compensation-based scheme and is not insurance-based, and therefore not regulated. It does not guarantee reimbursement of retail value, purchase price, sentimental value, or The Customer’s own assessment of value.” It adds that “the presence of a Maximum limit does not guarantee payment at that level”. Their homepage FAQ, read the same day, describes the same £300 as “automatically insured”, says “we pay for and insure every parcel you send for up to £300”, and offers to “raise your insurance to £1,000 or £10,000”. Both halves are that company’s own published words on 10 September 2026 (terms, homepage), and a seller should read both. The scheme names no carrier; Parcelforce is named on the homepage FAQ, which is a different document.
Two facts about Royal Mail’s own policy that apply to every parcel on this page. Royal Mail’s retail compensation policy for loss excludes compensation “where the item contains valuables (i.e. money and jewellery) unless posted using an appropriate Royal Mail Special Delivery Guaranteed® service”. Jewellery is compensatable on that service and not on the ordinary ones, which is why every GoldPaid label is that service. The same policy pays up to “the lower of the market value of the item and the maximum level of compensation purchased”, so paying for a higher level does not create protection above what the items are worth. A £900 parcel remains a £900 claim.
GoldPaid’s position, stated in full so you can compare it properly: Royal Mail cover may be available up to £2,500 depending on the postal method and cover level used. GoldPaid can confirm the appropriate postal option before you post. GoldPaid’s own liability is limited to the value of the items, the Royal Mail compensation claim is the seller’s claim to make, and GoldPaid helps you make it. That is the honest shape of it, and it is weaker than a named in-house scheme. If your parcel is worth more than £2,500, message before posting and we split the items across more than one prepaid label, each with its own tracking number. See postage and cover.
A note on how a free pack can be netted off
Hatton Garden Metals set their terms out openly, and they have a London store you can visit (their homepage: “Visit Us to sell and buy at our London store”). What a headline will not show you is the pack fee, which is a three-tier scale rather than a single figure.
A headline will not show you the pack fee. Hatton Garden Metals set it out in an asterisked footnote at the foot of their pack request form: “* The postage fee for the pre-paid bag will be deducted from your payment based on the insured value of your items. Insured up to £750: £8.95, Insured up to £1,000: £9.95, Insured up to £2,500: £10.95” (Hatton Garden Metals, read 10 September 2026). Those three levels are Hatton Garden Metals’ own, quoted from their own form; they are not a description of GoldPaid’s postage, which is free in both directions. Their homepage states “We show the real price we pay for your gold” with “no hidden fees, no misleading headlines”, and the same form invites you to request a “FREE Gold Pack”. Both were on their published pages on 10 September 2026 and both are reported here as written. We draw no conclusion about intent. The practical point is only that a cost netted off a payout does not appear in the headline.
Said in fairness: Hatton Garden Metals also publish a route with no pack fee on it. Package the items yourself and no pack fee arises, and their pack request page states that if you decline their offer they return the items free of charge. Their homepage also carries the line “Prices guaranteed for a full 7 days”. The point here is where the fee is disclosed relative to the word free, not that a fee exists. There is a fuller, separately dated comparison on GoldPaid vs Hatton Garden Metals.
The terms side by side
Every cell describing another company records what that company’s own published pages said on 10 September 2026. It is not a test of what any buyer does in practice, it is not independent research, and terms change without notice.
| Term | Cash For Your Gold | Gold Traders | Vintage Cash Cow | Hatton Garden Metals | GoldSell | GoldPaid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outbound postage | Seller posts, or arranges a Royal Mail collection; their FAQ asks “Why don’t you send out gold packs?” | No pack or prepaid label published; the seller posts and clause 3 requires the parcel to be “appropriately insured” | Free postage published on their homepage FAQ: “Sending your box to us is free, easy and safe.” | Pack fee deducted from the payment, by cover level: £8.95 up to £750, £9.95 up to £1,000, £10.95 up to £2,500 | Free pack with a pre-paid label; standard cover £750, and above that the seller buys more at the Post Office (clauses 3.1 and 3.2) | Free prepaid Royal Mail Special Delivery label |
| Return if you decline | “Reserves the right, at its absolute discretion, to charge the user £10 per package”, and £10 per package again where a consignment over £2,500 or over 500gms is split | Free and untimed for UK customers (clause 4); £3.00 handling charge on non-precious items returned at your request; international customers pay for their own returns | A box that does not identify its sender is “treated as abandoned” after 30 days (clause 5.22) | Their pack request page states that a declined offer is returned free of charge | Free where the parcel meets their minimum (clause 9.1); below it, a £15 admin fee plus return postage (clause 9.2); extra cover you bought is yours to pay if you reject (clause 3.2) | Free tracked return, no conditions |
| How long an offer holds | Offer guaranteed “for 24 hours thereafter, regardless of any metal market price fluctuations” (clause 9) | Not stated in the terms read; clause 6 pays without further contact where their valuation is within 10% of your own estimate | Offers “valid for a period of twenty one (21) days” (clause 5.9) | Homepage: “Prices guaranteed for a full 7 days” | “Valuations valid until 6pm same day only” (clause 5.2) | Dated, and holds for a limited time; re-run at the day’s rate if it lapses |
| Gemstones | Not bought and “will not be returned”; their terms recommend removing a stone of sentimental value before sending the item (clause 8a) | Stones may be removed in testing, “which can occasionally result in breakage”, and modifications cannot be reversed if you decline (clause 2) | Buys general vintage and household items as well as precious metal | Not stated in the pages read | “Gemstones generally valued at £0 unless exceptional” (clause 5.2); return of stones “cannot be guaranteed in every situation” (clause 6.2) | Nothing removed without your written instruction; metal and stone shown on separate lines; stones never disposed of |
| When the sale is made and metal melted | Melted “at the close of business on the day that they are purchased” | Payment proceeds without further contact inside a 10% difference from your own estimate, unless you asked for a formal quotation (clauses 1 and 6) | Appraisal “within 14 days”, and “time shall not be of the essence” (clause 5.4) | Not stated in the pages read | Instant payment is “Irrevocable acceptance of our valuation” and “Items are immediately sent for melting/refining” (clause 4.1) | Nothing melted before you accept; partial acceptance allowed, with no minimum and no penalty |
| Cover in transit | “Accepts no responsibility for the loss or damage of goods whilst in transit to us” | No postal cover claim of their own; seller arranges cover; liability disclaimed “during transit to or from our premises” (clause 3) | Own scheme, clauses 3.7 to 3.9: £300 in transit, £1,000 once received and scanned, up to £10,000 by prior written agreement. The scheme states it “is not insurance-based, and therefore not regulated”. It names no carrier; Parcelforce is named on their homepage FAQ | Published pack terms apply; read them on their own site | Terms: “Items remain at your risk until signed for by us” and “We accept no liability for transit losses” (clauses 3.1 and 3.4). Homepage: “Your gold is insured up to £2,500.” | Royal Mail cover may be available up to £2,500 depending on the postal method and cover level used; GoldPaid’s own liability limited to the value of the items |
| Registered company | Trading name of Group International Ltd, company 04497345 | Gold-Traders (UK) Ltd, company 06521732 | Vintage Trading Solutions Ltd, company 03862799 | Company 06426684 | GS Metals Ltd, company 16077167 | GOLDPAID LTD |
| Pages read, 10 September 2026 | Terms, FAQ, how it works | Terms, 9ct page | Terms, homepage | Pack request page, homepage | Terms (self-dated “Last Updated: 3rd January 2025”), homepage | Terms and conditions, the gold price and selling by post |
The terms of ours that cost you something
A comparison page written by one of the companies in it has an obvious problem, so here are the GoldPaid terms a seller might reasonably dislike, in plain words.
- The postal cover is Royal Mail’s, not ours. Royal Mail cover may be available up to £2,500 depending on the postal method and cover level used. GoldPaid’s own liability is limited to the value of the items, and the Royal Mail compensation claim is yours to make, with our help. Vintage Cash Cow’s published in-house scheme is a stronger structure than that.
- Our offer is not always the highest. Some buyers publish a per-gram rate that, on a given day and a large enough parcel, can beat what GoldPaid would pay after testing. GoldPaid does not publish a headline rate to check against; the figure comes in a written offer after the metal is weighed and tested, so weigh that offer against other buyers’ published terms, and their numbers, before you accept.
- We do not publish a fixed offer window. Our written offer is dated and holds for a limited time. Cash For Your Gold, Vintage Cash Cow and GoldSell each publish a stated period, set out in the table above.
- Photo ID is required from every seller, on every transaction. That is friction, and some people will not want to send it. It is our own practice as a precious-metals buyer rather than a regime we are supervised under; the detail is on payments, cash and money laundering rules.
- There is no shop. GoldPaid is postal only and UK-wide, with no counter anywhere. If you want to hand items across a desk and be paid in the room, this is the wrong service and a high-street buyer is the right one.
- No figure is firm before inspection. Final offers depend on inspection, item weight, purity, hallmarks, stones, non-gold components, condition and the live precious-metal market. If you want a number locked before posting, look for a buyer that offers that; we do not.
How to check any of this yourself
- Open each buyer’s terms and conditions page and use your browser’s find function for five words: stone, melt, return, transit and valid. Those searches surface most of what matters in under ten minutes.
- Note the date you read them, because terms change without notice and an undated note is worth very little later.
- Add up the fixed costs before you compare anything: the postage you would have to buy, any pack fee, and any payment or return charge taken off the payment. A cost netted off a payment does not show in a headline.
- Check the cover in transit and who has to make the claim, because that is the term protecting the parcel while it is out of your hands.
- Ask each buyer the same question in writing: what happens to a stone-set ring if I decline. The answer, or the absence of one, tells you most of what you need.
How this page was checked, and how to correct it
Every competitor statement on this page was read from that company’s own published pages on 10 September 2026 and is quoted verbatim or reported as written; the pages read are linked in the last row of the table above. Company numbers for Gold Traders and GoldSell were also checked on Companies House the same day. We have not mystery-shopped anyone, we make no claim about what any company pays or does in practice, and we do not claim that GoldPaid pays more than any named firm. Terms of business change without notice, so the date is part of the fact: check the current version on each company’s own site before you act on anything here. This page is rechecked monthly.
If anything on this page is out of date, incomplete or wrong, including if you work for one of the companies named, tell us and we will correct it and re-date the page. Call or message 07944 014111 on WhatsApp. GoldPaid is the trading name of GOLDPAID LTD, registered in England and Wales. It is a postal service, UK-wide, with no shop and no counter.
How selling works here
- Start on WhatsApp. A couple of clear photos of your gold and silver are enough for us to give you a rough estimate at no charge.
- Claim your free postage. We issue a prepaid, tracked, signed-for Royal Mail Special Delivery label, or a QR code for the Post Office.
- Post in your own time. Any padded envelope works, and there is no deadline to meet.
- Get a written valuation. Each item is weighed and read by XRF spectrometry, and the itemised offer is sent to you in writing, usually on the working day your parcel arrives.
- Accept or walk away. Acceptance means payment by Faster Payments; declining means a free, fully tracked return.
Your parcel is signed for on arrival and opened at our Bristol office, where each item is weighed and XRF-tested before the written offer is prepared.
How we value what you send
Every offer is built from measured facts: confirmed purity, accurate weight, and the live precious-metal market on the day we test your items, with our margin already inside the figure. You see each figure in a written breakdown before you decide anything. See how we value gold and XRF testing explained for the full method.
Every item is weighed and XRF-tested at our Bristol office, and the written offer shows purity, weight and the figure on separate lines so you can see exactly how it is itemised. Final offers depend on inspection, item weight, purity, hallmarks, stones, non-gold components, condition and the live precious-metal market.
One parcel gets one written figure, itemised piece by piece. Your offer reflects the weight and purity we measure and the live precious-metal market on the day, with our margin already inside the figure, so nothing further is taken off. For coins, watches and signed or collectable pieces, send a photo on WhatsApp first and we will tell you how we would value them before you post anything.
How your parcel travels
Your items travel on Royal Mail Special Delivery Guaranteed, fully tracked and signed for on delivery. Royal Mail cover may be available up to £2,500 depending on the postal method and cover level used. GoldPaid can confirm the appropriate postal option before you post. If your items may be worth more, message us first and we can split them across more than one prepaid label at no charge. See postage and cover for the full picture. If a parcel is lost on its way to us, the compensation claim goes to Royal Mail from you, the sender, using your Post Office receipt, and we give you our tracking records and help you make it. Lost parcels, step by step.
If you decide not to sell
There is never any obligation to accept. If the offer is not for you, simply decline, and we return everything free of charge by tracked, signed-for post, with no fee and no follow-up pressure. The full return process is on what happens if I decline the offer.
The written offer is dated and holds for a limited time, because metal prices move. If it lapses before you decide, we re-run it against the live precious-metal market on the day, at no charge. You can also accept part of a parcel and decline the rest, with no minimum and no penalty for splitting it.
Being paid
If you accept, we aim to pay by Faster Payments within one working hour of your acceptance, directly to your bank account. It is the last step, and a simple one.
Common questions
Does the gold buyer paying the most per gram always pay you the most?
No. A per-gram rate is one of several numbers that decide what reaches your bank account. A free prepaid label and no deductions are worth a fixed sum; a pack fee, a payment charge or paid return postage come off the other way; and a higher headline is worth more the larger the parcel. On top of the money sit the terms that are not about price at all: what happens to stones, when metal is melted, what a return costs and who carries the parcel in the post. Weigh all of them, not the headline alone.
What happens to the stones in my ring when I sell it?
It depends on the buyer, so check before you post. Cash For Your Gold’s published terms on 10 September 2026 state that they “do not buy gemstones”, that “any gemstones within items received will not be returned”, and that “We recommend that, if a stone is of sentimental value, you remove it before sending the item to us.” Gold Traders and GoldSell both say stones may be removed or damaged in testing. At GoldPaid nothing is removed from a piece of jewellery without your written instruction, the written offer shows the metal figure and the stone figure on separate lines, and stones are never disposed of. Terms change, so read the current version on any buyer’s own site before posting.
Can I change my mind after I accept an offer?
Not with any outright buyer. Once you accept, it is a completed sale and the metal goes on to be refined. What differs between buyers is when the sale is treated as made. On 10 September 2026 Cash For Your Gold’s terms said metal is “melted down at the close of business on the day that they are purchased”; Gold Traders’ clause 6 pays without further contact where their valuation is within 10% of your own estimate; GoldSell’s instant-payment option is an “Irrevocable acceptance of our valuation”. Gold Traders also publish a 24-hour cooling-off period after payment (clause 7). At GoldPaid nothing is melted before you accept, and you can accept part of a parcel and decline the rest.
Who pays to send my items back if I say no?
That is a term worth reading before you post. On 10 September 2026, Cash For Your Gold’s terms reserved “the right, at its absolute discretion, to charge the user £10 per package for postage, packing and insurance of the returned consignment”. Gold Traders’ clause 4 returned a declined offer free to UK customers with no time limit. GoldSell’s clause 9.1 returns it free where the parcel meets their minimum, and clause 9.2 charges a £15 admin fee plus return postage below it. Hatton Garden Metals state a declined offer is returned free. GoldPaid returns everything free of charge by tracked, signed-for post, with no conditions attached. Check the current terms on each company’s own site, because they change.
Does any buyer on this page have better postal cover than GoldPaid?
On published limits, yes. Vintage Cash Cow publishes its own Box Compensation Scheme with named limits, read on 10 September 2026: £300 while the box is in transit, £1,000 once it has been received and scanned, and up to £10,000 by prior written agreement obtained before the box is sent. The scheme itself states that it “is not insurance-based, and therefore not regulated” and that “the presence of a Maximum limit does not guarantee payment at that level”. That is a clearer published structure than GoldPaid’s, which points at Royal Mail’s product: Royal Mail cover may be available up to £2,500 depending on the postal method and cover level used, and GoldPaid can confirm the appropriate postal option before you post. GoldPaid’s own liability is limited to the value of the items.
Is this page independent research?
No, and it should not be read as such. It is written by GoldPaid, which is one of the companies compared on it. Every competitor statement is quoted verbatim or reported as written from that company’s own published pages, read on 10 September 2026, and the places where another buyer is ahead of us are stated in their own sections. Terms change without notice. If you find anything here out of date or wrong, including if you work for one of the companies named, call or message 07944 014111 and we will correct it and re-date the page.
Not the question you had? The full GoldPaid FAQ covers the rest, from postal cover and ID checks to what happens if you decline the offer.
Speak to us before you post
Please send us photos on WhatsApp, and we will help you. We give a rough estimate where possible and arrange postage with you after our conversation. Your final offer follows inspection.